XLS-402 - JBL Control 5 Plus

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ezurick

ezurick
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 January 2006 - 11:00 AM

Hi All.  I am hoping someone can answer my question(s).  I tried to read through the threads so I don't duplicate the question, but I didn't see anything related.  I am a musician and not a power amp experts, nor an electrician.  So alot of this is confusing to me.  Here's my question(s):

I have a small home studio (DAW) which is currently powered by a pair of Behringer B-300 powered speakers coming out of a small mixer (which sound is coming out from my studio to the mixer).  This is fine for the most part, but a bit extreme in my studio room.  I use this mainly for mix-down/mastering purposes.  I have 2 sets of JBL Control 5 Plus speakers that I purchased from a Navy buddy a few years back and I want to set them up as the main listening for my mix-down/mastering purpose (perhaps using the behringers turned down on the "monitoring" output of the mixer).  Anyway, I am not sure of the specs of the JBLs, but I believe they are 100 watt at 8ohms a piece.  So, if I have a pair of the JBLs on each channel, I assume that would make it 4ohms.  I am looking at the XLS-402 for powering these (2 JBL's on each channel).  Would that be practical, or is there another Crown amp someone can recommend that is in the same price range to easily power these 4 speakers (a pair on each channel)?

Next question.  I seen an ebay ad for an XLS-402B.  I tried seeking information on here, but can't find anything.  Is this ebay seller nuts, or is there really a 402B released?  If so, what is the difference between the A and the B version?

Thanks for any help and advice.... Oh!  and happy new year!

#2 DGlass

DGlass

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,541 posts

Posted 03 January 2006 - 10:02 AM