Hooking speakers up Parallel

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 dembits

dembits
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 December 2005 - 07:22 PM

Okay, I am relatively new to hooking up sound. I have read some of the old posts and think that I have a decent idea of what is going on, but want to make sure before I buy the wrong amp  or hurt my speakers. The guys at my local amp store are so into getting money out of me that they can't or won't take the time to really help me. I recently purchased a pair of MTX TP 112 speakers that according to the manual can handle 150 Watts of continuous power at 8 ohms. I also just got some Gemini GT 1002 speakers. Their website says that they can take 90 watts at 8 ohms, but the back of the speaker says 160 watts. I am going with 90. I would like to hook all four speakers up to one amp , creating a 4 ohm hook up and have read about hooking them up parallell. Based upon the .8 to 1.25 ratio, I think that the XLS 402 would work out, giving them 400 watts on each side at 4 ohms. However, I have a few questions:

1.  Am I correct in my selection?

2.  Can these be hooked up parallel?

3. When I do hook them up parallel, can I just use the banana plug to connect to the amp with one speaker cable and then just plug another banana plug into the back of the previous plug? As long as I don't hook them up upside down, it seems like this would work. (Hopefully this makes sense)

4. For the highest quality sound, can I hook up one MTX and one Gemini to each channel or will I have to hook up both MTX's to one side and both Gemini's to the other.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

#2 DGlass

DGlass

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,541 posts

Posted 06 December 2005 - 11:31 AM

1. Am I correct in my selection?