Need help troubleshooting Crown MA3600VZ please.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 mikehende

mikehende
  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:04 AM

Hello guys, my cousin was rewiring his rig and he smelled something slightly burning and immediately turned off the power on his amp so he waited a while and he pressed the power button and now no power. He asked for my help, I am a pc tech but I've never tried to fix any amps before since I cannot read circuit boards, I told him I can open the amp to see what was burnt or try to troubleshoot but I would need some guidance from an experienced Electronics tech, can anyone here help in any way please?

I haven't opened it yet, I wanted to inquire here for troubleshooting help first to see if this is something I can handle. I can go to him on Saturday and can perform any testing then. He was using it Stereo with the switch in the middle. He did not notice any smoke, he only smelled something more "heating up" than burning. He also mentioned that he tried to open the outer cover but when trying to turn one of the screws on the outside cover the screw would not turn and he did not want to round out the head so that's our first issue. In my experience with computers, any time a screw appears problematic I usually tap the screw this a small hammer to loosen it then attempt to unscrew it, would this same process apply here or would there be a better strategy? I am assuming that the screws on the amp were screwed in by machines which is why he cannot remove it easily?

I found this from the manual on "No Power" "The amplifier's low-voltage power supply
fuse has blown. Return amp to Crown or an authorized Crown Service Center for servicing."
I am guessing once I can get the outer cover off I can see if the fuse has blown.

Also, this from the manual for the 2400: