• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 3PedalMini

3PedalMini
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 31 August 2011 - 07:41 PM

Hi guys,

I am a custom installer with experience with 8ohm speakers. I am currently doing a large outdoor speaker system and coincidentally we have just been contracted to design and install a huge outdoor venue so 70v is what i have to work with smile.gif

For my outdoor system i had originally ordered 2 1160a amps. This all changed when my customers decided to add more speakers due to project changes and in ceiling sub woofers to the covered deck. I originally ordered a DBX 223 crossover but since the project has been delayed due to the hurricane i have more time to think over my original design.

1st zone)Covered Patio has a pair JBL Control19CS (without transformer) and 6 episode outdoor in ceiling speakers with transformers tapped at 8ohm and 20 watts each. I can use one CDI100 for 1st channel (70v speakers) and use the internal crossover 2nd channel for the sub woofers set at 4ohm correct? 16/2 for the speakers and 14/2 for the subwoofers both max run only 60 feet from rack

2nd zone) 1st channel of CDI1000 amp; Middle terrace. 4 Bose freespace 51's with inground weatherproof transformer 8 ohm set at 20 watts. 18/2 furthest speaker 150feet from rack
3rd zone)  2nd channel of CDI1000 amp; driving 8 bose freespace 51's with in ground weatherproof transformer 8ohm set at 20 watts. 18/2 furthest speaker 300 feet from rack
4th zone) Crown 180a 2 pendant speakers with transformer set at 8ohm 10 watts (i know overkill isnt it lol). 18/2 furthest speaker 210 feet from rack.

i would have used sonance's 70v solution throughout but my customer requested the outdoor speakers be blose  dry.gif

I have a DBX zone pro 640 to control the volume/sources controlled via RTI u2 outdoor remote. Should i use the DBX's internal equalizer to EQ the speakers or should i not bother and use the CDI series to EQ the speakers?