BEst amp for Bass Rig

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 EscapeNote

EscapeNote
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 06:52 PM

Hello - First time posting here.  I'm a bassist, looking to put together a new rig.  I'll be powering a pair of 1x12 cabs, a Bergantino HT112ER and an Aguilar GS112.  Both 8 ohm cabs, the Berg rated at handling 350 watts, the Aguilar at 300.  At some point in the future i might add a 3rd cab, possibly a 15.  The XLS1000 or XLS1500 would seem to be a good match for my needs.  A couple of questions:

Assuming that I do add another cab at some point, would the XLS 1000 still be enough or would I be better off to get the XLS1500?

If I run the am in bridge mode can I still use the Speakon connectors or can bridge mode only work with Banana plugs?  

When the fan kicks in is it fairly quiet?

Thanks much.

#2 Tom Lureman

Tom Lureman

Network Newbie

• Admin
  • 111 posts

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:26 AM

To answer your questions about the amp and speakers, I need to know if the power level you mentioned for the speakers is peak, program, or continuous RMS power.  Also, which third cab would you possibly be adding?

When the fans turn on (which isn't all that much) this amp is extremely quiet.  A lot of people have started using these in their home theater for that reason.

You CAN use the amp in bridge mode with the Speakon connector.  Speakon output #1 has connections for all for outputs in the back (1+, 1-, 2+, 2-).  Use a Speakon connector called NL4 that has 4 conductors.  Wire the connectors so your two wires are connected to 1+ and 2+.  This is the same exact thing as connecting banana connectors to the two red terminals.
The other end of the Speakon cable that connects to the speaker should be wired like normal (1+ and 1-).

Make sure to not add any more speakers to the banana connector, as they are the same output as the Speakon and not a separate amp channel.