Crown DSi 1000 only worked for a week

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 New 2 Audio

New 2 Audio
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:36 AM

In my previous life about 6 weeks ago I was a network administrator and now have been moved to a new job that requires me to support a 30 year old PA system for a school district.  About a month ago ,  people on the 1,2 and 3rd floors were complaining that the sound over the PA speakers was becoming distorted and eventually they could not hear anything from the speakers.  The sound on the 4,5 and 6th floor which are fed by different amplifiers sound fine.  I replace the 10 year old Peavy amp which was running in bridged mode for an output of 1200 watts with a Crown DSi 1000 which I also am running in bridged mode for a total of 1400 watts.  I configured the Crown DSi 1000 for JBL 3632 bridged mode and y input.  The amp worked fine for a about a week then I heard a user or two starting to complain about distortion and now there is no sound at all coming out of the Crown.  Nothing that I know of has changed since the Crown amp was working a couple days ago.

The indicator lights up front show ready, signal,  the -20 and -10 light up when there is an input signal and the clip and thermal light are not lit.  

The only trouble shooting I have done was to power off the amp,  and turn it back on.

Any ideas on how to trouble shoot this problem?  If I  hook up a Quam C5    (which is supposedly 8 ohms)  ,  what wires do I connect to the Crown amp?

#2 New 2 Audio

New 2 Audio
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:57 AM

QUOTE(New 2 Audio @ May 26 2011, 09:36 AM) View Post