Outdoor Shoot Mic Advice

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 rpaul

rpaul
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 September 2007 - 02:42 AM

I am planning a small video shoot for a personal project, and in need of some professional advice deciding choice of mics.

Here's the setup:
  • Outdoors in the desert at night (assume wind).
  • A six foot square dinner table, undercloth to help cut down noise of glasses, plates etc. and tablecloth.
  • Six people, 2 each on 3 sides seated at the table forming a "U". Some of the talent will occasionally come and go from the table.
  • The piece consists of a dinner conversation between the six "diners".
  • Three cameras: a master shot from the empty side of the table and 2 others moving around the periphery.

For several reasons I can't use booms. Someone better versed than myself (I'm an audio novice) suggested I steer clear of boundary mics as they'd pick up too much ambient sound, clinking of glasses etc. They suggested I wire each person at the table with their own individual lav/wireless mics.

Not only is this is an expensive proposition for a personal project (about $1k for rentals), but there are many restrictions associated with using lavs too (clothing material, placement etc).

After perusing the web a little on the subject, I'm not totally convinced that two or three well placed boundary mics might not be the way to go.
  • Am I barking up the wrong tree wanting to use boundary's?
  • If not, should I use 2 or 3? (I assume cardioid pattern)
  • What would be a safe distance to keep the camera operators away from the table so that their footsteps etc won't be picked up?
They'd definitely be cheaper to rent, record from and generally make my life a lot easier.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

#2 brubart

brubart

Power User

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 21 September 2007 - 01:27 PM