PZM-11LL Connections

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 will1234

will1234
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:36 AM

Currently I have two PZM-11LLs connected to my Shure SCM810 and not phantom powered.  Separate RS 24VAC transformer.  To make the connections to the mixer I used CAT-6 with a single strand from 3 twisted pair sets and power on both strands of the orange/orange white pair.  They seem to be working OK to me but I am new to this.  Other than the obvious differences, what is the difference between the CAT-6 and shielded microphone cable?  The CAT-6 isn't shielded but is designed to eliminate or minimize any cross-talk via the twists.  Knowing the above, and drawing on any similar experience would using shielded mic cable work better?  Should I be able to detect an audible difference or would it only address inaudible line noise only seen with a scope?  I have to believe that running the power in the same 4 pair bundle has to be detrimental to some degree but don't see anything obvious as a resulting of doing so.  Should I go ahead and run separate power.  Phantom power is an option but don't really want to tear into the circuitry at this point unless if would be a significant benefit.  Running additional lines isn't a problem.  BTW, both runs are around 30 feet.  If I need to switch to shielded mic cable, is there a particular brand or street name (nickname) I should look for when I head out.  In the telecom world, hardly anything is actually referred to by its true name but rather a, sometimes colorful, nickname.   I also have RG-59 and RG-6 coax on hand but they are only 2 conductor core and shield.

Thanks in advance
Rob

#2 DGlass

DGlass

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,541 posts

Posted 13 November 2006 - 01:25 PM